Learning from the Masters

Palette

Hello, my friends!  I must tell you about a WONDERFUL online class I am in, hosted by Jeanne Oliver, a sweet lady whom I have just come across, called Studying Under the Masters {becoming an apprentice}.  The class is based on the premise that it is good to copy the work of masters, for practice, not to sell or claim as your own, in order to find your own niche.  Last week was the first week and it was Jeanne’s week; she taught us about Henri Matisse: his life, his art, and what she learned from him.

Learning From the Masters

My copy of "La Coiffure" by Henri Matisse

Here is my version of Matisse’s “La Coiffure” — yes, it is a naked lady, I apologize for the exposed bottom, but Jeanne chose to teach us how to copy this painting because it was a theme in Matisse’s work and it was also a good lesson on mixing paint for skin color.

Close-up of my copy

la coiffure by Henri Matisse

Here is Matisse’s original work that I copied from.  He worked in oils, and neither I nor Jeanne work in oils so she taught us using acrylics.  This was my first experience using nicer, heavy body acrylics, mixing paints and learning how to shade.  It was eye opening and completely inspiring.  I feel like my style is beginning to emerge now that I am learning more techniques…or at least I feel I am able to better express my creative desires than I have previously.

Matisse Paperclay Sculpture

Matisse Paperclay

I also learned how to use Paperclay from Jeanne.  I had never sculpted before, so this sleeping lady is a copy of Jeanne’s sleeping lady.  This woman was inspired by Matisse’s painting, The Dream.

Paperclay Matisse Couch

This couch, however, was my own idea.  I really loved the pattern of the couch in Matisse’s painting, “Young Women in the Garden”, so I decided to make a model of the couch.  I love how it turned out.

Gaudi/Junelle Jacobsen Inspired

Cathedral

Week two is lead by Junelle Jacobsen of Yes and Amen Art.  (She is such a precious lady!)  The master she focuses on is Antonio Gaudi, a Spanish architect who was inspired by God and nature.  His work is amazingly organic for the time period he lived in.  This painting is my copy of Junelle’s vision of Gaudi’s largest work, La Sagrada Familia.

Needless to say, this course has stretched me and taught me already and we are only two weeks in.  I have so many more ideas and I know my ideas exceed my ability most of the time, but it has been surprisingly worshipful to learn patience through repetition and practice in order to fine tune my craft.  I’m just praising God that he has graced me with an ability that satisfies the innate desires he gave me.

Make something today!!  I don’t care if it is a computer program, a pot of soup, a journal entry, or an organized closet…just create like your Creator and seek Him in your creating.  He is faithful to reveal himself to those who seek Him.

Jeanne Oliver:

Blog – http://jeanneoliverdesigns.com/blog/
Etsy – https://www.etsy.com/shop/jeanneoliverdesigns
Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/jeanneo/

Junelle Jacobsen:

Blog – http://yesandamenblog.blogspot.com/
Etsy – https://www.etsy.com/shop/YesandAmen?ref=em
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yes-Amen-Photography-Junelle-Jacobsen/155441811132702

Blessings,

Emma

2 thoughts on “Learning from the Masters

Leave a Reply

